Tuesday, 23 August 2016

National Sports Awards 2016

A day after the Olympic Games came to an end in Rio de Janerio, the government on Monday conferred the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2016 to Olympic medallists P.V. Sindhu and Sakshi Malik; ace gymnast Dipa Karmakar, who lost a medal by a whisker, and shooter Jitu Rai. This is for the first time the nation's highest sporting award has been conferred on four athletes.

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.

  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years. 
  • Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years; Dronacharya Award for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events. 
  • Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. 
  • Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

Full list of awardees:
  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2016:
Name of awardeeDiscipline
P.V. SindhuBadminton
Sakshi MalikWrestling
Dipa KarmakarGymnastics
Jitu RaiShooting

  • Dronacharya Award 2016:
Name of awardeeDiscipline
Nagapuri RameshAthletics
Sagar Mal DhayalBoxing
Raj Kumar SharmaCricket
Bishweshwar NandiGymnastics
S. Pradeep KumarSwimming (lifetime)
Mahabir SinghWrestling (lifetime)

  • Arjuna Award 2016:
Name of awardeeDiscipline
Rajat ChauhanArchery
Lalita BabarAthletics
Sourav KothariBilliards and Snooker
Shiva ThapaBoxing
Ajinkya RahaneCricket
Subrata PaulFootball
V R RaghunathHockey
Gurpreet SinghShooting
Apurvi ChandelaShooting
Soumyajit GhoshTable Tennis
Vinesh PoghatWrestling
Amit KumarWrestling
Sandeep Singh MannPara-Athletics
Virender SinghWrestling (deaf)

  • Dhyan Chand Award 2015:
Name of awardeeDiscipline
Satti GeethaAthletics
Sylvanus Dung DungHockey
Rajendra Pralhad ShelkeRowing

  • Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2015­-16: Punjabi University, Patiala.

Share this