Sunday, 13 March 2016

Schedules of Indian Constitution

         Schedules are lists in the Constitution that categorizes and tabulates bureaucratic activity and policy of the Government. Indian Constitution originally had eight schedules. Four more schedules were added by different amendments, now making a total tally of twelve.

List of Schedules:
Schedule Description
First List of States & Union Territories
Second Lists the salaries of officials holding public office, judges, and Controller and Auditor-General of India.
Third Contains the Forms of Oaths or Affirmations.
Fourth Allocate seats for each state of India in Rajya Sabha (The Upper house of The Parliament)
Fifth Contains provisions as to the Administration and Control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes.
Sixth Provisions for administration of Tribal Area in Asom, Meghalaya, Tripura, Mizoram & Arunachal Pradesh
Seventh The allocation of powers and functions between Union & States. The union (central government), State, and Concurrent lists of responsibilities.
Eight The official languages. Contains list of 22 languages of India recognized by Constitution.
  • Sindhi was added in 1967 by 21 Amendment
  • Konkani, Manipuri ad Nepali were added in 1992 by 71 amendment Santhali, Maithili, Bodo and Dogri were added in 2003 by 92 amendment
Ninth Contains acts & orders related to land tenure, land tax, railways, industries.(Right of property not a fundamental right now)
  • Added by Ist amendment in 1951. 
Tenth Contains provisions of disqualification of grounds of defection.
  • Added by 52nd amendment in 1985. 
Eleventh Contains provisions of Panchayati Raj.
  • By 73rd amendment in 1992. 
Twelfth Contains provisions of Municipal Corporation.
  • By 74thamendment in 1992. 

Share this