Wednesday, 23 March 2016

Parts of Indian Constitution

         The Indian constitution is the world's longest constitution. At the time of commencement, the constitution had 395 articles in 22 parts and 8 schedules(which now extends to 12).

Parts of Indian Constitution:

Parts/Articles Deals With
Part I/Articles 1-4 : Territory of India, admission, establishment or formation of new states
Part II/Articles 5-11 : Citizenship
Part III/Articles 12-35 : Fundamental Rights
Part I V/Articles 36-51 : Directive Principles of State Policy
Part I V-A/Article 51A : Fundamental Duties of a citizen of India
Part V/Articles 52-151 : Government at the Union level
Part VI/Articles 152-237 : Government at the State level
Part VII/Article 238 : Repeated by 7th Amendment 1956
Part VIII/Articles 239-241 : Administration of Union Territories
Part IX/Articles 242-243 : The Panchayats
Part IX-A/Articles 243P-243 : The Municipalities
Part X/Articles 244-244 : A Scheduled and tribal areas
Part XI/Articles 245-263 : Relations between the Union and States
Part XMI/Articles 263-300 : A Finance, property, contracts and suits
Part XIII/Articles 301—307 : Trade, commerce and travel within territory of India
Part XIV/Articles 308-323 : Services under the Union and States
Part XIV-A/Articles 323A-323B : Deals with administrative tribunals
Part XV/Articles 324-329 : A Election and Election Commission
Part XVI/Articles 330-342 : Special provision to certain classes SCs/STs, OBCs and Anglo Indians
Part XVII/Article 343-351 : Official languages
Part XVIII/Articles 352-360 : Emergency provisions
Part XIX/Article 361-367 : Miscellaneous provisions
Part XX/Article,368 : Amendment of Constitution
Part XXI/Articles 369-392 : Temporary, transitional and special provisions
Part XXII/Articles 393-395 : Short title, Commencement, Authoritative Text in Hindi and Repeals

Share this